He Lives in You…

7 years ago

it was right after

the morning prayer

I stepped into his room

where he lay motionless

as always I held his hand

to feel the warmth

of his palm.. held in mine

I spoke in his ears

Surely my voice will make

His head turn

or his hands will squeeze mine

in return….

I kissed his hands

N held on tight

afraid to let it go

these hands had held me

in dire needs….

from the time I was born

till the time

I walked down the isle

there was great strength

n magical power in those palms

that could slay anything

into a calm slender

Never could I imagine

that’d be the last

I will hold them

even with all the signs

the inevitable refused

to accept in my mind

calling out ‘Daddy’

had come so naturally

never crossed the naively

ignorant mind

that’ll be lost for years to come

no head turns as

I call that name

No smile warms my days

when I call that name

the cell doesn’t ring

with ‘daddy’ blinking

no voice calls

as lovingly….

but he’s there

Somewhere..

He lives in the feelings

I cocoon in my heart

he lives in the gestures

my brother perfects

he lives in the face

of my brothers

his eyes sparkle

in my youngest born

his laughter lives

in my little niece

His heart lives

in my daughter

n Above all….

His strength lives

with my mother

He didn’t leave…

He left behind his legacy !

 

 

One thought on “He Lives in You…

Leave a comment