Quit Facebook ?

I have been debating whether I should quite Facebook and its been a while. Initially I had created the account much to my family’s insistence, just so we could share lots of pics wherever we travelled. The invites started growing as our (very large) family linked eachother…it wasn’t long when extended family, in-laws, friends through school and universities, co-workers, and then friends of friends and more so friends of friends of friends could locate you and your where-abouts. Many found their long lost ‘school’ friends n teachers through this channel; we much to be thankful for.

It seemed exciting, yet created some points of jealousy, seeing someone wear the latest dress, see someone go to a restaurant you so badly to go, see friends get together n you weren’t included or forgotten… admire people’s vacation spot and feel sad that you weren’t going….

Anyone could stalk anyone, still can, if you don’t have a strict privacy setting. Then, from nowhere the pop-ups started. It seemed that someone from behind the screen could read the cognition of your interest and send a link.

Over the years, I find this page to have become a norm, from a hype its become a habit. Even in the most hopeless of situations, one would just sit, open the FB page on a mobile or screen and get a peep into other people’s lives. “oh, so they met last week… they were in the neighbourhood and didn’t even tell us…”

For some people, taking a bite of food comes after posting the ‘pic’ of the food… some believe in sharing their ‘angry thoughts’ rather then share a part of their wisdom, some like to see how many ‘likes’ they received after they attended a party, “how come she got more ‘likes’ then me? my dress was more gorgeous…”, some critically eye who has made the best comment on their family pics, and for some, who lead their lives totally through FB, love spreading false news, alter a video and spread it with a different message. I myself have fallen prey to such idiocy, but with experience comes acuity, and with acuity comes discernment.

When someone brings awareness for homeless and creates a page or event to help an orphanage, when an event such as a food drive or a toy drive includes hundreds and thousands of people, when people from different origins and cultures join hands to help a child fighting with cancer, when authors create a group to help all the writers to come out of their nooks and many such ‘whens’ makes me open up my FB home page and start over again.

My mother keeps asking me if I read the latest quote she shared ? She likes sharing quotes and at times she would tag one suitable to me or my brothers. I plead guilty to not see them mostly, specially when I’m going through the ‘ignore Facebook for awhile’ phase. which’s why I haven’t downloaded the FB app on my phone… it seems simpler without it.

But things are not simpler, specially when one is looking through denseness…

And Nobody can make a difference unless they adhere to it. Mark Zuckerberg, a boy with an insight became a man of innovation, and one of the youngest entrepreneurs of his time. He gave us a message, that using the brain to its full capacity, won’t diminish its size. It’ll only multiply and thread a link with those, looking for a cue towards a new beginning.

To me, this is a new beginning…

 

Leave a Reply

